Image

29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

This is the place to ask questions about linear amplifiers, or power supplies

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Fogdog
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 27
Joined: Monday, 18 March 2013, 14:48 PM
Radio: Stryker 955 HP
Antenna: IMAX 2000
Name: Fogdog
Location: DX LAND

29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by Fogdog » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 5:42 AM

I have a Cobra 29LX and a Xforce TNT 600 HD Amp laying around in the shop. I'm wondering if this combination will work without toasting any parts. I plan on a mobile install. The 29lx is bone stock.
Thanks for any help or advise.

[ Post made via Android ] Image


Image


User avatar
295 antenna
Mod Duck
Mod Duck
Posts: 617
Joined: Sunday, 23 October 2016, 21:45 PM
Radio: optima ,cobra 148ex
Antenna: patriot,brownig
Name: Charles Reney
Cell Phone: 760-672-1257

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by 295 antenna » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 8:24 AM

should be ok do you have a power meter?


Keep smiling ...It makes people wonder what your up too !

American eagle member : AE1577
TWRC Member : WR2950

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7508
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 9:09 AM

Well we will say a non modded 29 will do around 4+/- average watts feeding a HD amp the power output will be about 1/4 that of using a HD radio.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
Fogdog
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 27
Joined: Monday, 18 March 2013, 14:48 PM
Radio: Stryker 955 HP
Antenna: IMAX 2000
Name: Fogdog
Location: DX LAND

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by Fogdog » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 9:16 AM

I do have a power meter.
I'm not sure I understand the above post, as far as power output goes. Can I expect a decent increase in power? Any ideas how much?

[ Post made via Android ] Image


Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7508
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 9:27 AM

Fogdog wrote:
Saturday, 21 July 2018, 9:16 AM
I do have a power meter.
I'm not sure I understand the above post, as far as power output goes. Can I expect a decent increase in power? Any ideas how much?

[ Post made via Android ] Image
I stated you will see 1/4 of what a HD radio like your Stryker would show so if you gett 600w out of it hooked to the Stryker then expect around 200w out of it with the 29. You will never hurt an amp underdriving it but overdriving will, voltage is just as important as well, so is amerage.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department


User avatar
Fogdog
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 27
Joined: Monday, 18 March 2013, 14:48 PM
Radio: Stryker 955 HP
Antenna: IMAX 2000
Name: Fogdog
Location: DX LAND

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by Fogdog » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 9:29 AM

I got it. So if my Stryker 955 did 800-1000 Watts, the 29lx would do maybe 200 watts out?
Wonder if I'd be better off just connecting the little Shooting Star 225 amp to it. Hmmmm!

[ Post made via Android ] Image


Image

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7508
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by MDYoungblood » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 10:56 AM

I wouldn't run the amp that hot, it won't take the abuse. Those amp's with the "HD" designation means it can be driven with a radio doing 30/40 watts (the "HD" mosfet amps are even less input wattage), not 75/80. Hook it up and adjust the DK to around 150w and let it swing. The 29 hooked up the DK might be around 60/75w. Should see loads of swing if the modulation is right.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
Fogdog
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 27
Joined: Monday, 18 March 2013, 14:48 PM
Radio: Stryker 955 HP
Antenna: IMAX 2000
Name: Fogdog
Location: DX LAND

Re: 29LX w/ TNT 600 HD?

Post by Fogdog » Saturday, 21 July 2018, 15:49 PM

Thanks for the help.

[ Post made via Android ] Image


Image


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic