WELCOME TO THE NEW CBRT FORUM!
Image

Elkin 6 tube amp question

This area is dedicated to talk about tube radios, or amplifiers.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
Tinman590
Donor
Donor
Posts: 643
Joined: Sunday, 11 January 2009, 18:26 PM
Radio: Icom and RCI-2980
Name: Andy
Location: North Carolina
Contact:

Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Tinman590 » Monday, 26 October 2009, 19:43 PM

I trade for am elkin 6 tube amp, It does not have a load or plate knob. It only has one knob that has the numbers 0-100 at the bottom right hand corner. Does anyone know what that is for, none of my buddies can tell nor could the man who owned it.
RCI-2980WX
ELKIN 6 (6dq6) sometimes a driver
Henry Radio 2k2
Imax 2000
4 element maco
RCI-2950 twin tube modulator
Cobra 2000
Washington
A bunch of other stuff




User avatar
Foxhunter
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2662
Joined: Thursday, 03 April 2008, 10:24 AM
Radio: Fisher-Price
Location: South-Central New Jersey
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Foxhunter » Monday, 26 October 2009, 20:31 PM

Tinman I've tried to see a few other threads where people posted about these somewhat obscure tube amplifiers also to no avail. "Elkin Tube CB Amplfiers". Not very much about them online elsewhere either. I have the same exact amplifier you do.

I wish I had more pictures of it, but I lost many photos that I had saved on my last PC, which crashed a week ago unfortunately. I'd have shown a clear shot of the front panel, but still if anyone looks they can see the large knob you were trying to describe.

My only guess thus far is that possibly since it's a dedicated "monoband" or single band amplifier, it is already "sort of" pre-tuned to the 11M band and doesn't need drastic tuning like other broadbanded amplifiers might. Perhaps the one knob is more-or-less a "fine tuning" knob only. What does anyone else think, sound plausible or no ?

Or, maybe it's done via the switches. Maybe you put a switch in one postion for maybe tune, dial the knob around. Then flip another switch and use the same dial for load. Or visa-versa, you know what I'm maybe saying. I wonder if that's it ?

Image

Image

Image

Image


The amplifier looks to be constructed nicely, and is very neat in appearance internally. People say these were good amplifiers and that they had a popular following. I've never even plugged mine in to test it, and am also unfamiliar with how to properly operate it. I just didn't want to power it up and start fiddling with switches and knobs. Nothing worse that having a new toy without instructions. And nothing REALLY worse than having a new toy you just burned up because you weren't familiar with it and couldn't wait.

I've been in no rush so figured one of these days I'd read something on these Elkin amplifiers and get the scoop on them.



Foxhunter 351 NJ

I Remember


Image



User avatar
Tinman590
Donor
Donor
Posts: 643
Joined: Sunday, 11 January 2009, 18:26 PM
Radio: Icom and RCI-2980
Name: Andy
Location: North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Tinman590 » Tuesday, 27 October 2009, 3:32 AM

Im glad to see im not the only horse in this race, but I have tested mine pretty well. The top left hand switch is power on or off, the bottom left hand switch is standby and the right hand switch is sideband. I see about 10 watts of deadkey with 4 in and usually with the 2980 I can get 550 out pep on a mfj grandmaster meter. With that said the amp does a good job and is very clean im told. The knob now is a different story, I have turned that thing all over the place and see no difference on the air or on the meter. My amp is the same as yours except I have one more switch, that I have discovered to be low and high. The amps are made here in NC in elkin I am told. If more info arises for me I will sure post it here because Im sure there are more of these amps lurking around. Thanks for your post foxhunter, what would we do without the internet and this site. :lol:
RCI-2980WX
ELKIN 6 (6dq6) sometimes a driver
Henry Radio 2k2
Imax 2000
4 element maco
RCI-2950 twin tube modulator
Cobra 2000
Washington
A bunch of other stuff



User avatar
Foxhunter
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2662
Joined: Thursday, 03 April 2008, 10:24 AM
Radio: Fisher-Price
Location: South-Central New Jersey
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Foxhunter » Wednesday, 28 October 2009, 0:17 AM

Hey, you're welcome, glad to. It's been a while since I had mine out, I'll have to pull it down sometime soon and look it over. I moved it a few months ago but really haven't looked it over for well over a year at least. Relying on the 'ol memory. Here's a few interesting pictures . . .

Elkin Two Tube CB Amplifier
Image

Elkin Four Tube CB Amplifier
Image

Elkin 8 Tube CB Amplifier
Image




elkin 6 tube
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=29929


Hey you know what also ? There are 3 whole pages of search results that come back by searching "Elkin". I haven't sifted through them all, but might make for some good reading on a slow night on the forum sometime.


Foxhunter 351 NJ

I Remember


Image



User avatar
Yellowjeepcj
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Tuesday, 12 January 2010, 18:09 PM
Radio: RCI 2985-DX
Name: Flint Holbrook
Home Phone: 704-236-1224
Location: Clover, SC

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Yellowjeepcj » Friday, 12 February 2010, 22:04 PM

Try Rays electronics in Elkin, NC.

Ray's Electronics Supply

1032 Elk Spur St
Elkin, NC 28621-2710
Phone: (336) 835-7852


User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Night Crawler » Saturday, 13 February 2010, 17:43 PM

Tinman590 wrote:I trade for am elkin 6 tube amp, It does not have a load or plate knob. It only has one knob that has the numbers 0-100 at the bottom right hand corner.

That is the Plate Tune.
The Load is a Compression Trimmer inside the amp.

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Night Crawler » Saturday, 13 February 2010, 18:32 PM

Foxhunter wrote:My only guess thus far is that possibly since it's a dedicated "monoband" or single band amplifier, it is already "sort of" pre-tuned to the 11M band and doesn't need drastic tuning like other broadbanded amplifiers might. Perhaps the one knob is more-or-less a "fine tuning" knob only. What does anyone else think, sound plausible or no ?
Foxhunter 351 NJ

That's a very good guess your right on the money.

To put it simply what's being done there's a load cap inside the amp which is tuned most likely in the middle of a 500kc range along with the Plate Tuning Cap then the Plate Tune on the front is used like you said as a fine tuning to resonate the final as the frequency is being changed with in that pretuned range. It's called fixed loading I've seen that method being used on the KLM tube amps.

User avatar
Walkin Horse
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 18 March 2010, 7:14 AM
Radio: Cobra 142gtl
Name: Jonathan
Location: North Carolina

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Walkin Horse » Thursday, 18 March 2010, 12:33 PM

I run a Elkin 4 tube amp and I never really new what the dial did but I Noticed that the dial affects the output on mine going off the meter on the unit. I run my dial at 90 and everyone I talk to Says its loud and very clear...I have never seen a Manual or any paperwork on them...
Cobra 142gtl Base
SBE Trinidad 23 Ch.
Tram Titan IV
Browning Eagle S23/R27
Realistic TRC-30A
Royce 23 ch. base
Realistic TRC-217
Johnson Messenger I(x2)
Johnson Messenger II(x2)
RCA Co-Pilot 14T303 Base
Uniden PC68XL Mobile
Astatic D-104 TUG8 Stand Lollipop
Astatic 10-DA TUG9 Stand
Astatic D-104 G Stand
1 tube amplifier
Elkin 2 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Elkin 4 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Zodiac 6 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Antron 99





"The Walking Horse Said It and We Back On The Side"



User avatar
Bossman
Super Mud-Duck
Super Mud-Duck
Posts: 9
Joined: Tuesday, 09 March 2010, 17:10 PM
Radio: SBE Trinidad
Name: John Moore
Home Phone: 252 946 0066
Location: Washington NC
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Bossman » Tuesday, 06 April 2010, 20:03 PM

I run a 6 tube Elkin too. That dial has baffled me too. Elkins are very common in this neck of the woods and are highly sought after. Walking Horse's 4 tuber sounds better than my 6 tuber most of the time. One in our local group here has a 12 tube Elkin that will blow your radio off the bench when he keys up. Love them Elkins ! Love anything with tubes for that matter !

"I Hear Mariachi Static On My Radio.......And The Tubes, They Glow In The Dark....."

Bossman
NC

User avatar
Night Crawler
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 3839
Joined: Tuesday, 15 May 2007, 8:03 AM
Location: Northern NJ
Referrals: 1

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Night Crawler » Wednesday, 07 April 2010, 7:29 AM

Walkin Horse wrote:I run a Elkin 4 tube amp and I never really new what the dial did but I Noticed that the dial affects the output on mine going off the meter on the unit.


Bossman wrote:I run a 6 tube Elkin too. That dial has baffled me too.

It's the Plate Tuning Capacitor used to resonant or tune the final amplifier for the frequency it's being used on.

If not not set properly it will damage the amplifier tubes.
It can not be set just anywhere.

User avatar
Walkin Horse
2 PILL USER
2 PILL USER
Posts: 10
Joined: Thursday, 18 March 2010, 7:14 AM
Radio: Cobra 142gtl
Name: Jonathan
Location: North Carolina

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Walkin Horse » Wednesday, 07 April 2010, 15:59 PM

Night Crawler wrote:
Walkin Horse wrote:I run a Elkin 4 tube amp and I never really new what the dial did but I Noticed that the dial affects the output on mine going off the meter on the unit.


Bossman wrote:I run a 6 tube Elkin too. That dial has baffled me too.

It's the Plate Tuning Capacitor used to resonant or tune the final amplifier for the frequency it's being used on.

If not not set properly it will damage the amplifier tubes.
It can not be set just anywhere.


Yea I now understand what it does now since I have asked and done research about it, I have now got my 4 tuber tuned
Cobra 142gtl Base
SBE Trinidad 23 Ch.
Tram Titan IV
Browning Eagle S23/R27
Realistic TRC-30A
Royce 23 ch. base
Realistic TRC-217
Johnson Messenger I(x2)
Johnson Messenger II(x2)
RCA Co-Pilot 14T303 Base
Uniden PC68XL Mobile
Astatic D-104 TUG8 Stand Lollipop
Astatic 10-DA TUG9 Stand
Astatic D-104 G Stand
1 tube amplifier
Elkin 2 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Elkin 4 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Zodiac 6 Tube(12DQ6B) Amplifier
Antron 99





"The Walking Horse Said It and We Back On The Side"



User avatar
ITA130
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Wednesday, 22 September 2010, 1:40 AM
Name: Rob Stell
Home Phone: 870-784-0266

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by ITA130 » Wednesday, 22 September 2010, 22:29 PM

i'm new to the forum and to begin i was never around any of Ray's base amps. however i owned as many as 4 of his 8 tubes, 1 of his 4 tubes and a 2 tube all mobile units. after viewing the pics i was amazed at how different they appear and tune. i have been trying to locate one of Ray's 8 tube mobiles but having no luck. we lost a unique pioneer in tube amps when Ray passed away. sorry i couldn't help but i wanted to tell you Elkins is a top notch tube amp. best of luck to you and if you ever own one of Ray's mobile amps i can try and point you in the right direction. waving at you from the Razorback ITA130.

User avatar
DixieEcho82
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 49
Joined: Tuesday, 26 October 2010, 5:13 AM
Radio: RCI, Galaxy, Uniden
Name: Greg
Home Phone: 910-648-6281
Location: North Carolina

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by DixieEcho82 » Tuesday, 26 October 2010, 17:26 PM

This was how I started out as far as my first larger base amp. Mine was a 4 tube with 4 1625 tubes though. A teenager in 1983 with an amplifier that would light up like a disco light when you would modulate. I used to turn out the lights and watch that old teaberry model T and the elkins for hours. My tech down in S.C. used to work for the Elkins Service Center. Different people used different colored wire to identify their work. My tech used purple wire. These are fun type amps you can talk on all night when set up properly, very easy on tubes. All you have to do is take number of tubes X 25 watts per tube and let the modulation do the rest....should last 20 plus years....mine did!!! There are all kinds of folklore stories floating around about if there were ever 14 tube Elkins made.....I have read on here, a different forum, that Ray tells that none were ever made and actually that is true as far as I can tell. How the 14 tube Elkin story got started was a man started building a few 14 tube amps on an Elkin design....his last name started with an H. Well, H had a few "bugs" in the amps, so he let another man, MY TECH whose last name starts with L finish the amps. After the teamwork the H & L electronics 14 tube was born!! It uses 14 1625 tubes and has 2 internal transformers and I external transformer. This is the straight of the 14 tube Elkins story. To my knowledge there were only 3 of these ever made. I know where 2 are!! BUT I AINT telling. If you ever see #3 it it will be painted black not the regular Elkins color. The external transformer is is a case about the size of a JB 12, and I can prove all this with a phone number for you to talk to the man who helped make them. God I love to see equipment with a story! Anyway I've written a book but always remember to take up time with a teen who wants to put up a base antenna....might keep them outta trouble.......

User avatar
Tinman590
Donor
Donor
Posts: 643
Joined: Sunday, 11 January 2009, 18:26 PM
Radio: Icom and RCI-2980
Name: Andy
Location: North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by Tinman590 » Saturday, 20 November 2010, 17:52 PM

what would the 6 tube Elkin pep out, mine has 6dq6 tubes in it. Was converted to a 6 tuber
RCI-2980WX
ELKIN 6 (6dq6) sometimes a driver
Henry Radio 2k2
Imax 2000
4 element maco
RCI-2950 twin tube modulator
Cobra 2000
Washington
A bunch of other stuff



User avatar
201tram
Mud-Duck Sr.
Mud-Duck Sr.
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday, 10 July 2010, 6:17 AM
Radio: Tram Titan / D201
Name: Tim
Home Phone: 8288500809
Location: Lenoir NC

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by 201tram » Sunday, 21 November 2010, 19:54 PM

I saw where someone wrote Ray passed away. Hope Not I just talked to him Sat morning and he Looked like he has for 40 years..
Hint ::Tune the Big knob for MAX output..Thats all unless you are experienced with them..
Input SWR and Dead Key are done under The Bottom... 251..

User avatar
bigtoe4u
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 1
Joined: Friday, 22 October 2010, 9:52 AM
Name: Jeffery

Re: Elkin 6 tube amp question

Post by bigtoe4u » Sunday, 30 January 2011, 23:17 PM

I had a buddy just send a tram to him about 2 months ago and unless Ray is doing work from the grave, I think he's still with us. Radio arrived in middle of January, fully fuctional and screaming.


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests