Horrible feedback through stereo

This forum is intended for asking any other technical questions that you cannot find answers to in the other forums.
Mattx2
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK

Horrible feedback through stereo

Post by Mattx2 »

I am new to the cb world, so all help is welcomed.

I decided to put dads old cb in my 1999 silverado. Its a cobra 19ltd that he said he "turned it up", i hooked it to two 2' attennas that are attached to my toolbox. if the truck is off the cb works if the truck is on it screams and comes through the stereo. i do have a full stereo systems too subs, amp, cd player, the workers but i can turn it all off and it still comes through it.

Does anyone know how to fix this???

Ive tried grounding it better, hooking straight to the battery, turning the amp off and switching to nav.

Help please

Re: Horrible feedback through stereo

Post by 231 »

First of all welcome to the forum.

I'd highly recommend you read through the Intro to Radios 101 section of the forum. In it there are tips on tuning the antenna(s), which I'd suggest you do (if you haven't already). That alone might help some.

You could try throwing some snap on ferrite beads on the speaker wires to help keep them from acting like antennas, but if the bleed over is as severe as you say, I'd guess that may not be enough. Assuming you are using the 75 ohm phasing harness provided with the kit, the antennas probably are not spaced properly and also may be too close to the cab. Antennas don't like being "next to metal" much. They prefer being above it. Although your tool box is under them, being next to the cab can create reflection in addition to what's already present from being and very short, un-tuned, and incorrectly spaced apart antenna sytem. I'm just speculating here based on your description and what I've seen most installations of cophased kits look like on 4 wheelers by the way...so please correct me if I'm wrong here.