Image

MaCo 300

A place to ask questions about base setups.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
385
Donor
Donor
Posts: 382
Joined: Friday, 26 December 2008, 17:53 PM
Radio: Almost too many
Antenna: imax 2000
Name: Tracy
Location: SW AR.
Referrals: 1
Contact:

MaCo 300

Post by 385 » Monday, 16 March 2009, 14:14 PM

got a maco 300 base amp today and need tuning instructions.
2 knobs on the front and one on the right side
on the front left knob says tune
the front right says load
and the one on the right side says tune
Will post pics asap.
Thanks 385
385, Tracy




User avatar
385
Donor
Donor
Posts: 382
Joined: Friday, 26 December 2008, 17:53 PM
Radio: Almost too many
Antenna: imax 2000
Name: Tracy
Location: SW AR.
Referrals: 1
Contact:

Re: MaCo 300

Post by 385 » Tuesday, 17 March 2009, 6:58 AM

Ok I figured out how to tune it...Kinda...Do you start with the tune or load?
Now does anyone now how much input it will take?
It has 5 2057 tubes in it and all the reading I done yesterday I could only come up with a DK input of 3-5 watts.
It came with a Pres.Washington base and D-104 and it all works. The recieve is a little low on the washington but other than that not too bad for $150.00
385, Tracy



User avatar
NCMidnight
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 459
Joined: Sunday, 21 January 2007, 3:14 AM

Re: MaCo 300

Post by NCMidnight » Tuesday, 17 March 2009, 7:31 AM

385 wrote:Ok I figured out how to tune it...Kinda...Do you start with the tune or load?
Now does anyone now how much input it will take?
It has 5 2057 tubes in it and all the reading I done yesterday I could only come up with a DK input of 3-5 watts.
It came with a Pres.Washington base and D-104 and it all works. The recieve is a little low on the washington but other than that not too bad for $150.00
Turn the amp on and let it warm up for 10 mins or so.
Next turn your radio power up and adjust your tune and load to the highest dead key within reason, using short 10-15 sec key's. Tubes aint cheap!
Then turn your radio down to the normal dead key that you use.
Adjust the "load" to a lower operating level to where you get max swing or lower then max. on the watt meter.

This is just general. I did own a Maco 300 myself at one point when I first got into radio, and sold it.. Im still kicking my self in the butt for it.. Great amps IMO. I didnt know what I had at the time..

User avatar
385
Donor
Donor
Posts: 382
Joined: Friday, 26 December 2008, 17:53 PM
Radio: Almost too many
Antenna: imax 2000
Name: Tracy
Location: SW AR.
Referrals: 1
Contact:

Re: MaCo 300

Post by 385 » Sunday, 22 March 2009, 15:09 PM

Thanks NC Midnight, Maybe I can explain this better. This one has only 5 tubes all 2057's I'm putting 3w DK and swinging 15-20w into the amp from the radio, then I adjust the load to max on the watt meter, then the tune to max, then the tune on the side to set the amp's DK which on low is about 50w swinging to around 150w and on high is 100w swinging to 500-600w. Does this sound about right? Theres a guy in texarkana that told me about a matcher adjustment in the back thats adjusted with an allen wrench but cant remember exactly what he said about it, something about the DK of your radio. What about the DK and swing input on this amp. How much? Thanks 385
385, Tracy



User avatar
popcorn
4 PILL USER
4 PILL USER
Posts: 27
Joined: Wednesday, 18 March 2009, 18:22 PM

Re: MaCo 300

Post by popcorn » Sunday, 22 March 2009, 16:48 PM

Sounds like you about got it,3watts dead key should be ok,just need to remember to tune the maco for max output,do not back down the output with the tune or load knobs this will kill the tubes.Hope this helps.


User avatar
razor717
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 1
Joined: Monday, 28 March 2011, 18:28 PM
Radio: Galaxy saturn
Antenna: Imax 2000 w/gpk

Re: MaCo 300

Post by razor717 » Monday, 28 March 2011, 18:39 PM

what is the match screw on the back for on these maco300's
Thanks 73's :icon_rolleyes:

User avatar
Nagant
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1339
Joined: Thursday, 31 December 2009, 4:15 AM
Radio: To Many To List
Antenna: M104C, V-Quad
Name: Paul
Location: Southern Illinois
Referrals: 1

Re: MaCo 300

Post by Nagant » Monday, 28 March 2011, 19:51 PM

IIRC it functions as your input standing wave tuner.
Worm on AM or 262 on SSB.


Pills are for swallowing!



My YouTube CB Radio Channel http://www.youtube.com/user/262NagantRa ... e=mhee#p/u



User avatar
Rooster173
Duckplucker
Duckplucker
Posts: 108
Joined: Saturday, 02 April 2011, 19:25 PM

Re: MaCo 300

Post by Rooster173 » Saturday, 02 April 2011, 21:57 PM

Use the load on the back to match your swrs many people don't know that. Tune or load first either way tune to the max never tune down from max power. Consider this all that extra power is going elsewhere when you detune a amplifier to less than max power. Also i recommend one and a half watts to no more than two and a half watt deadkey to ensure your amplifiers life. Tubes for macos are surely not cheap. I wish you all the best. Rooster


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest