Image

Help with power???

Need some help or advice on how to set up a mobile. This is the place to ask.

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
killswitch
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Thursday, 29 October 2015, 15:12 PM
Name: Jerry
Cell Phone: 4783940962

Help with power???

Post by killswitch » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 4:01 AM

Just purchased a Galaxy DX98VHP. Trying to install it in my big rig. Company won't let me run wires to batterys on truck. Can't put one inside the cab either. Any ideas how to feed this beast? I did the computer power supply mod to one I had laying around. It will give me 12.3 volts and 35 amps out. Tried to use an inverter to power it but inverter is not big enough once I turn the power up. Any ideas as to how I can power this radio would be greatly appreciated.




User avatar
543FtWorth
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1617
Joined: Sunday, 18 July 2010, 17:54 PM
Radio: (non-sponsor) 29 LTD
Antenna: *Censored*

Re: Help with power???

Post by 543FtWorth » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 5:49 AM

Don't bother with an inverter and power supply. Neither the inverter or power supply and 100% efficient and this is a major waste of power. Not to mention the receiver noise it may cause. If the inverter could handle such a load you could just tie into the power cables feeding the inverter. Is it a big inverter with large power cables coming from the batteries? If it is you may be able to use them.

I don't know what kind of truck you're driving but some have a heavy duty buss bar next to the fuse panel. It will be a flat copper bar with lugs and cables attached. You can use a crimp on ring terminal and make a clean connection. Be sure to use a fuse. You could get your power there and then find a good ground as close to the radio as possible.
Last edited by 543FtWorth on Thursday, 05 November 2015, 5:51 AM, edited 1 time in total.



User avatar
jessejamesdallas
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 5835
Joined: Sunday, 10 October 2004, 18:02 PM
Location: Republic of Texas
Referrals: 1

Re: Help with power???

Post by jessejamesdallas » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 5:51 AM

If you can't run wires to the battery...sell it. Buy a Cobra 29...

There are no other options...


Image
Image
Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

User avatar
killswitch
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Thursday, 29 October 2015, 15:12 PM
Name: Jerry
Cell Phone: 4783940962

Re: Help with power???

Post by killswitch » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 13:37 PM

Thanks for the suggestions. I have tried hooking it to the existing wiring harness for a standard cb in the truck. It will run it but once i turn the power past a certain point, it has a buzzing noise. If i can't find a way to run it off the 12volt accessory port or existing cb wires then the company won't let me run it. The inverter i tried was a 750 watt. It is powered from the 12volt outlet. BTW, i have a Cobra 29 that i was using with a linear. It works fine using the cb wires.



User avatar
Radar-DLDN
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 826
Joined: Thursday, 23 June 2011, 7:08 AM
Name: JD

Re: Help with power???

Post by Radar-DLDN » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 14:49 PM

Maybe I'm misreading this, but are you saying that you want to use an inverter to convert 12v DC to 120v AC, then a power supply to convert 120v AC back to 12v DC?


Radar - Toledo, Ohio - Mod Duck


User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7507
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPad
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Help with power???

Post by MDYoungblood » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 15:34 PM

Hello killswitch,
Welcome to the forum. Your in a world of hurt if you can't run wires directly to the battery, that radio needs at minimum 30amps. You say the company won't let you run the leads (I know maintenance/warranty issues) but can your shop do it, you might have to supply the material. It's that or go back to what you were using, I don't see any other way.
I always ask new members to post a intro in the "Welcome to the Forum" topic, viewforum.php?f=89" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; , so others can say "hi", thanks.

3's

Greg


"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department

User avatar
drdx
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5966
Joined: Wednesday, 25 April 2007, 11:32 AM

Re: Help with power???

Post by drdx » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 16:53 PM

Is this a truck that you use constantly and don't share? You may have some fun with using an alternative power source, like a battery, along with the truck power you do have access to, in order to make it all work if you are up to it. Dare I say it, the old stereo capacitor in conjunction with the truck, where the capacitor absorbs the peaks? Solar backup? The possibilities are endless with enough imagination.

-drdx


Yes it's me, Dollar-98, drdx, the original all *Censored*, shot cawla on workin this no-fade technology.

-drdx

User avatar
543FtWorth
Wordwide & Qualified
Wordwide & Qualified
Posts: 1617
Joined: Sunday, 18 July 2010, 17:54 PM
Radio: (non-sponsor) 29 LTD
Antenna: *Censored*

Re: Help with power???

Post by 543FtWorth » Thursday, 05 November 2015, 18:23 PM

killswitch wrote:Thanks for the suggestions. I have tried hooking it to the existing wiring harness for a standard cb in the truck. It will run it but once i turn the power past a certain point, it has a buzzing noise. If i can't find a way to run it off the 12volt accessory port or existing cb wires then the company won't let me run it. The inverter i tried was a 750 watt. It is powered from the 12volt outlet. BTW, i have a Cobra 29 that i was using with a linear. It works fine using the cb wires.
If the radio will not run off the 12 volt accessory port you can not run a power supply off an inverter to power the radio. The inverter and power supply are not 100% efficient so your power supply can only supply less current than was available at the accessory port. For that to work the inverter or power supply would have to generate it's own electricity. Know what I mean?

Unless you can find and tap into a buss bar like I mentioned the odds are against you. You could use a sealed battery in the cab and build a charger to plug into the 12 volt socket but if it's ever overcharged it will release dangerous gas. The car audio cap won't hurt but I never had any luck with them. A slight improvement on SSB but nothing for AM. In a situation like yours where the 12 volt socket doesn't supply anywhere near the power requirements it isn't going to work.

How much amperage do you have at the cb power connection or 12 volt socket. I'd try to find a radio that will run with the power you have. The signal strength may not be that much lower.




Post Reply Previous topicNext topic