Image

Stryker 955hp

This is the place to ask questions about linear amplifiers, or power supplies

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
94 at Large
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday, 26 November 2010, 21:00 PM
Name: Richard

Stryker 955hp

Post by 94 at Large » Thursday, 04 January 2018, 18:40 PM

I am considering using the Stryker 955hp as a base and was wondering what size power supply will be needed. I have an old Radio Shack one that I used running a barefoot Midland ages ago but I'm thinking that will be woefully insufficient to run the Stryker. Looking at the Mega Watt. Thoughts?


User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7468
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPhone
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 05 January 2018, 7:24 AM

I would say bare minimum would be 14A, I would go with larger to give the radio some breathing room so a 20A supply would work fine. Check out the sponsor's for prices on both, GI Joe's site normally has a recommendation for a power supply.

3's

Greg
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
295 antenna
Mod Duck
Mod Duck
Posts: 603
Joined: Sunday, 23 October 2016, 21:45 PM
Radio: optima ,cobra 148ex
Antenna: patriot,brownig
Name: Charles Reney
Cell Phone: 760-672-1257

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by 295 antenna » Friday, 05 January 2018, 9:29 AM

I run a mega watt 30 amp on my magnum one . I have for atleast 1 yr and no issues to report
Keep smiling ...It makes people wonder what your up too !

American eagle member : AE1577
TWRC Member : WR2950



User avatar
jon6667
Skipshooter
Skipshooter
Posts: 271
Joined: Wednesday, 11 May 2016, 7:17 AM
Radio: icom 7300
Antenna: dipole
Name: jon
Cell Phone: 5183353857

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by jon6667 » Friday, 05 January 2018, 10:48 AM

all i run is megawatt i have 3 of them

User avatar
94 at Large
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 2
Joined: Friday, 26 November 2010, 21:00 PM
Name: Richard

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by 94 at Large » Friday, 05 January 2018, 12:16 PM

Thanks for the responses. Mega Watt it is!


User avatar
sonoma
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1364
Joined: Sunday, 02 April 2006, 14:10 PM
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by sonoma » Friday, 05 January 2018, 15:07 PM

the Mega watt is a better and far more reasonable in price than a pyramid other power supplies watt for watt output.

User avatar
MDYoungblood
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7468
Joined: Saturday, 12 June 2010, 19:05 PM
Logged in via: iPhone
Radio: Uniden Washington
Antenna: Avanti Sigma II
Name: Greg
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by MDYoungblood » Friday, 05 January 2018, 16:00 PM

I wasn't recommending a pyramid power supply tho that is what GI Joe's sell, but to look at what he recommends amperage wise. Mega Watt is a sponsor here also, in the purchase tell them you are a member here.

3's

Greg

[ Post made via iPad ] Image
"321, the Middle of Maryland"

23 AM "WORLD WIDE" 38 LSB

Strong Supporter of America's Original Homeland Security Act
The Second Amendment



Official Moderator - CBRT Complaint Department



User avatar
Skyraker426
Mud-Duck Sr.
Mud-Duck Sr.
Posts: 6
Joined: Saturday, 12 September 2015, 14:58 PM
Name: Stosh
Cell Phone: 4046061469

Re: Stryker 955hp

Post by Skyraker426 » Friday, 12 January 2018, 19:23 PM

I am running the Mega Watt 50 amp supply on my 955. It works great!


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests