Image

hygain amp has 8909 tubes?

This is the place to ask questions about linear amplifiers, or power supplies

Moderator: JR Moderator

User avatar
missouri 69
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 83
Joined: Wednesday, 07 September 2005, 14:27 PM
Location: missouri

hygain amp has 8909 tubes?

Post by missouri 69 » Wednesday, 20 February 2008, 15:24 PM

hi
I cannot find info or substitution for this tube 8909..
anyone have an idea?
amp does not need tubes at the moment , but thought I would be ready..
thanks
sam


User avatar
dud muck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1174
Joined: Thursday, 14 December 2006, 22:04 PM
Location: tustin, ca

Re: hygain amp has 8909 tubes?

Post by dud muck » Wednesday, 20 February 2008, 18:10 PM

Hygain (afterburner?) amps used a 6JU6 tube.
The 8909 is a huge pentode, totally different.

The 6JU6 is a sweep tube, and not made any longer.
Image
Unlimited power permitted on CH1 to CH27 as per FCC CFR 47 part 18: 18.305(a) and 18.301



User avatar
missouri 69
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 83
Joined: Wednesday, 07 September 2005, 14:27 PM
Location: missouri

Post by missouri 69 » Wednesday, 20 February 2008, 19:22 PM

thanks for the info

User avatar
missouri 69
6 PILL USER
6 PILL USER
Posts: 83
Joined: Wednesday, 07 September 2005, 14:27 PM
Location: missouri

Post by missouri 69 » Wednesday, 20 February 2008, 19:46 PM

hi
this may be the 8908 ge tube ..
"GE 8908 (HyGain 760002) tube replacement: The best choice to replace the no-longer-available 8908 is to change the socket and plate cap to use a 6KG6/EL509. "

User avatar
ALE
NEW DUCK
NEW DUCK
Posts: 1
Joined: Friday, 09 July 2010, 13:24 PM
Name: Al
Home Phone: 2092861212

Re: hygain amp has 8909 tubes?

Post by ALE » Friday, 09 July 2010, 13:29 PM

Did you ever find the information on the 8909 tube??

Al


Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests